Mezza Norte Part 2

This article has moved to http://www.crispypataatkarekare.com/2012/08/08/mezza-norte-part-2/

Steak, I came back for you!

Something so great deserves a part two. There are just so many food stalls to choose from that I couldn’t explore all in one night so I had to go back to Mezza Norte in Techno Hub, Commonwealth Ave., Quezon City. (How to get there? Click here)

In the open area, over 40 vendors excite the visitors with their affordable products, mostly.

I was so hungry I went for the tried and tested Juana Bowl steak, cooked medium rare with gravy and rice Php190. Same thing I had the last time I was here.

Okay I’m supposed to try the different dishes right, but this steak has become a must-have for me here.

People are raving about Dadi’s Berd. It’s time to try my friend Mike Bulaong’s masterpiece.

I got the budget meal, grilled barbecue chicken with rice Php75.

Wow! I’m a believer! It’s sweet and spicy. So Filipino.

Mike’s a musician and he makes beautiful music but I never thought he could also make chicken so delicious. Congratulations bro.

There’s also a simple food stall there, Seven Plates. The lady selling there told us to try their Nanay’s Binagoongan. She was the one who helped my family find a table in the midst of this jungle with the hungry crowd so out of gratitude, we bought the Nanay’s Binagoongan.

Okay, here’s the deal, the stall didn’t look too exciting. But, and here’s the big but… the dish was a tasty surprise!!! The binagoongan was a bit crunchy which made me smile. It was sweet and spicy with the taste of the bagoong. I recommend you try this.

There’s a long line at Taclings. I had to know what the fuss was about.

Taclings had something different, from afar it looked like deep fried siomai but they’re actually small taco shells of a different shape. Stuffed in it was the meat, you can choose from ground beef or tuna. It also has salsa and creamy garlic sauce.

I tried both the ground beef and the tuna.

These were supposedly bite-size but it’s kind of a challenge. I managed. Haha.

It was okay, I liked the ground beef better.Ā It’s just that the creamy garlic sauce was too sweet it overpowers the taste of the salsa and the beef. But it felt good that I was able to try that, something different. Maybe that’s why people are trying it too, it looks different and catches the eye.Ā Next time, I’ll put hot sauce and I’ll request they put lesser creamy garlic sauce.

(Commercial Break: two weeks after I first tried Taclings, I saw this again in SM North Edsa which is a mall in Quezon City. This time, I asked the vendor to lessen the creamy garlic sauce and add more of their special hot sauce. The result? Wow! I loved it! It tastes better when it’s spicier)

You can buy 6 pieces for Php70 and 12 pieces for Php120.

I’m stuffed. Here’s one lesson I’ve learned. Before buying, go around first, look for stalls with free samples. Tasting products for free will help you choose which to buy.

If you think this article wasnā€™t a waste of your time, it would help me feel appreciated if you click this linkĀ hereĀ and like my Facebook page. Thank youĀ :-)

Read my previous article about Mezza Norte which includes dishes not mentioned here. Click here.

Get in touch with the organizers of Mezza Norte:
admin@MercatoNorth.com
www.MezzaNorte.com

home

6 responses

  1. Raser S. Alfante | Reply

    sabi ko na eh! I already had an idea where it is. But I’m not so sure kung yun nga yun. I’ve been there last Saturday Aug. 4, 2012. I had a CG with my friends from 8:00pm till 6:00am. Kaya lang sa Yellow Cab lang kami. hehehe!!! ^_^

    1. sayang, try going here, pero closed sila today dahil marami sa vendors affected ng baha…. baka bukas ay open na sila šŸ™‚

  2. The chicken looks terrific. I’d love to visit šŸ™‚

    1. it’s delicious, try it, dadi’s berd šŸ™‚ come back here again, fresh articles weekly. God bless!

  3. Isang subuan lang yung isang tacling sakin hahahaha!! :)))

    1. hahaha! mas bite-sized kasi yung kanina. the first one i tried before was kinda big šŸ™‚

Leave a comment